How Busy Am I?

How Busy Am I?

Why am I so busy?

Being a divorced mother with an empty nest, one would think that I have all the disposable time in the world. In reality, I pick and chose my own “busy” as to what is most important to my needs and priorities.

I resent time hogging tasks such as: laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning (all facets thereof), home maintenance. These are not easily dispensed with and necessities of everyday living.

The “busy” that identifies who I really am in defining the Order of my Universe is:

  • First and foremost – a Mother. It matters not that my daughters are 30 and 27. When they need me, I am there.
  • A Grandmother. I love and cherish the special bonds that I have with my grands. They love me, and I them. I gladly take care of them when both their parents are working. It’s a choice – yes – a choice out of love and fulfills a need that is central to my very being.
  • A Grandmother to a Big Blonde Boy – a beautiful Golden Retreiver. I have learned from him with his gentle nature and unconditional love.
  • A Board of Directors member for my development/community. Donating time and expertise as a member of a team for the community I live in and enjoy.
  • An Administrative Professional by day. My motto is “I can make Management Shine.” I positively enjoy my work.
  • Freelance work from time to time. Some pro bono – some not.
  • Attend school.  Currently is on a break from attending school parttime, but would like to resume that. In an of itself, that requires a huge allotment of time, but the lessons learned reaps bountiful rewards.

We make our own busy – even though some of the “busy” is clearly disposable. The time we fill with our “busy” (mundane and elective) identifies the essence of our very core, and aligns with our happiness.

~Linda Spreeman, King of Prussia~

About lindaspreeman, King of Prussia

My name is Linda Spreeman, and I am a longtime resident of King of Prussia, PA. With an Associate of Arts in Psychology, I have conducted myself in a successful career as an Administrative Professional. With a motto of “Making Management Shine” my career began at C-E Minerals, Inc. a division of the Paris based conglomerate, Imerys. Rising to become the Executive Assistant to the CEO and President, I was a dedicated associate for 17 years until the closure of the office. In 2003, I joined to the biotech leader Amgen Inc. as an Administrative Coordinator. Eventually rising to also become the Site Lead, and remained there until 2010 when the office, also, closed. In 2010 I joined AmerisourceBergen and an Executive Assistant supporting senior management. In 2011, I joined GlaxoSmithKline, the third largest pharmaceutical company in the world, as an administrative professional in the Global Operations division located in King of Prussia, PA. I am recognized as technology savvy and extremely proficient in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. I adore my family and am a devoted mother of two beautiful, successful daughters and a proud grandmother. I am active in my community. I have served as President of the Upper Merion High School Cheerleaders Parent Booster Club (when my daughters were High School Cheerleaders), and continue to serve on the Board of Directors for my Homeowners Association. I have also volunteered as a Youth Group Leader and a Sunday School Teacher. I am available for freelance administrative work. Resumes are a specialty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

